NZ eResearch Symposium 2011

Thursday 30 June & Friday 1 July

University of Otago, Dunedin

NZ eResearch Symposium 2011 will be held at The University of Otago, Dunedin on Thursday 30 June – Friday 1 July 2011. Please mark these dates in your calendar and start making arrangements.


We're pleased to confirm the following keynote speakers at NZ eResearch Symposium 2011:

Professor David Abramson

Professor David Abramson

Dr. Ian Foster

Dr. Ian Foster

Assistant Professor Ann Zimmerman

Assistant Professor Ann Zimmerman


Early Bird registrations are still open for NZ eResearch Symposium 2011.

Registration Type

Early Bird Rate

Full Rate

Full conference registration
(incl dinner and all workshops)



Student registration
(does not include conference dinner)



Early bird registration has been extended until Thursday 9 June 2011.

Please click here to register!

Conference Programme
Click here to view the conference programme and workshop information.

PRE SYMPOSIUM networking: Wednesday 29 June 2011
7:30 - 9:30pm

Venue: Staff Club, University of Otago

Join us for a pre-symposium informal gathering at the historic Staff Club on campus.  Entry to the Welcome Function is included in full and student conference registration.

Conference Dinner: Thursday 30 June 2011
6:15 pm - late
Larnach Castle

Meet at the registration desk, Castle Theatre Complex at 6:15 pm and travel by bus to the award winning Victorian castle. Larnach Castle was built from 1871, by William Larnach for his beloved wife Eliza. Be entranced by the history as you journey to this exquisite setting for an evening to remember; a true Dunedin experience. The evening includes a superb meal, refreshments, and entertainment, all in front of an open fire. The bus will return you to the University of Otago.

One ticket to the conference dinner is included in the full conference registration. Please note, student registration does not include a ticket to the conference dinner however students may purchase a ticket to attend at $80.00 each. Additional conference dinner tickets are available for purchase at $80.00 each for friends, family or colleagues.


 Accommodation is available through the registration system at the following Hotels:


Room rate per night (incl. GST) 

Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge


Quality Hotel Cargills


LivingSpace Dunedin


 Please click here to view a map of the accommodation and conference venue.

Call for Contributions

The call for contributions has now closed. Thank you to all those who submitted an abstract for consideration. All abstracts will be reviewed by the committee and you will be notified shortly.

New Zealand eResearch Symposium

eResearch encompasses all of the research computing that supports a research community. It crosses research disciplines, from the humanities and social sciences, physical and biological sciences, to math and engineering. It includes the computing and software platforms that connect equipment, data, and other computing resources with people, along with collections management, platforms to run experiments, and advanced collaboration tools. eResearch communities thrive on deep engagement with researchers, and aim to support the formation and operation of effective digitally-supported research communities.

Our NZ eResearch Symposium is a broad forum for NZ's research sector and nascent eResearch community. This is an opportunity to meet leaders of eResearch initiatives within NZ and internationally, and to hear about emerging practice, and to share experiences.

Forward to a Friend

If you know of anyone that may be interested in the NZ eResearch Symposium, please feel free to forward this information.


General Chair: Nick Jones, University of Auckland
Programme Chair: Mik Black, University of Otago
Host: Russell Butson, University of Otago 

If you would like more information on any aspect of this conference, please contact the Conference Organiser:

Conference organisers of NZ eResearch Symposium

Paardekooper and Associates
phone: +64 4 562 8259
fax: +64 4 562 8269

Ministry of Science and Innovation


Supported by the Ministry of Science & Innovation eResearch programme .